TL;DR
Get kitchen staples and gadgets delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Entries for the 2027 Good Food Awards are open through Oct. 31, with coffee among 18 eligible categories and judging scheduled for January. Separately, San Diego-based Better Buzz Coffee is preparing shops in three Florida cities; a report says the company aims for 16 locations across the Tampa and Orlando markets by the end of 2027.
Entries have opened for the 2027 Good Food Awards, with coffee among 18 categories, while San Diego-based Better Buzz Coffee is preparing shops in Brandon, New Port Richey and Davenport, Florida. The developments, reported in Daily Coffee News’ Oct. 9 weekly roundup, put a coffee-industry awards deadline alongside a multi-market expansion plan whose reported scope extends to 16 locations by the end of 2027.
The Good Food Awards will accept submissions through Oct. 31. Entry fees are $125 per product for members and $150 for nonmembers; qualifying members can receive one complimentary entry. Blind tasting and judging are scheduled for January alongside the Specialty Food Association’s Winter FancyFaire. The source report says 13 coffee roasters won awards in the 2026 competition.
For Better Buzz, Business Debut reported that the company is preparing locations in Brandon, New Port Richey and Davenport. The publication also reported a broader plan for 16 locations across the Tampa and Orlando markets by the end of 2027. The roundup does not give opening dates, addresses or details of the company’s investment in the Florida rollout.
Other items in the weekly roundup include Edmonton’s Transcend Coffee marking its 20th anniversary with an Oct. 14 documentary screening, and Fairtrade International raising minimum banana prices amid higher production and logistics costs, climate pressures and geopolitical instability. The roundup also noted new ready-to-drink and functional coffee products, an upcoming Brazilian coffee auction and a California cafe that changed ownership and is now operating as Dwell Coffee.
Awards Deadline and Florida Growth
The two lead developments reflect different parts of the coffee business. The awards opening gives roasters a time-limited route to submit products for blind evaluation and potential recognition, while Better Buzz’s reported Florida plans point to growth beyond its San Diego base. If the 16-shop target is reached, the company would have a larger presence across two Florida market areas; the source does not establish how many of those locations are already operating or under construction.
For producers and roasters considering the awards, the immediate practical point is the Oct. 31 submission cutoff and the difference between member and nonmember fees. For consumers and local businesses, the Florida locations could bring a new chain option to the three named communities, though opening schedules and store details have not been provided.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
A Weekly Snapshot of Coffee
Daily Coffee News by Roast Magazine published the roundup on Oct. 9, 2026, combining the awards announcement and Florida expansion report with industry developments in sourcing, retail, products and events. Its summary describes the Good Food Awards as open across 18 categories, including coffee, and places judging in January alongside the Specialty Food Association’s Winter FancyFaire.
The roundup also records a prior milestone for the awards: 13 coffee roasters received awards in 2026. That figure is specific to the previous competition and does not predict how many coffee entries will be submitted or recognized in 2027.
“The 2027 Good Food Awards entry period is open through Oct. 31.”
— Daily Coffee News by Roast Magazine
Open Questions on Florida Sites
The awards’ entry window and fee schedule are stated in the roundup, but it does not provide the full submission rules, eligibility requirements or a January judging date. The number of 2027 entries and eventual winners is not yet known.
For Better Buzz, the expansion details are attributed to Business Debut. The available report does not specify when each Florida shop will open, whether leases or construction are complete, or how the 16-location target is divided between Tampa and Orlando. The roundup also offers no company statement confirming those particulars.
Deadlines, Judging and Store Openings
Eligible businesses must submit Good Food Awards entries by Oct. 31. Blind tasting and judging are scheduled for January alongside Winter FancyFaire; the roundup does not state when the 2027 winners will be announced.
Better Buzz’s next visible milestones would be the opening of its planned Brandon, New Port Richey and Davenport locations and progress toward the reported end-of-2027 target. Specific opening announcements, addresses and a company confirmation of the wider plan would clarify the pace and scale of the Florida expansion.
Key Questions
When do entries for the 2027 Good Food Awards close?
The entry period is open through Oct. 31, 2026, according to Daily Coffee News.
How much does it cost to enter?
The listed fee is $125 per product for members and $150 for nonmembers. Qualifying members receive one complimentary entry.
Where is Better Buzz planning Florida locations?
Business Debut reported planned locations in Brandon, New Port Richey and Davenport, as part of a reported target of 16 locations across the Tampa and Orlando markets by the end of 2027.
Are the planned Florida coffee shops open yet?
The source material says Better Buzz is preparing the locations but does not provide opening dates or confirm that any of the three named shops are open.
Source: rss
NFL season / tailgating Picks
team gear
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
