TL;DR
Get kitchen staples and gadgets delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
The FDA is investigating a new outbreak of Listeria monocytogenes infections and has confirmed 11 patients. The agency has not disclosed their ages or locations, identified a food source, or said what product is being traced.
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration is investigating a new outbreak of Listeria monocytogenes infections and has confirmed 11 patients, according to an October 1 report by Food Safety News. The agency has not identified the source or disclosed the patients’ ages or where they live, leaving consumers without information to connect the illnesses to a particular food or location.
The FDA has started traceback efforts to investigate where a potentially implicated food may have originated or been distributed. The agency has not said what food is being traced, and the available report does not identify a brand, retailer, restaurant, or product. The outbreak is therefore under investigation, not publicly linked to a specific food.
The FDA also has not released the patients’ ages or states of residence. Those details could help describe who has been affected and the geographic reach of the illnesses, but they are not available in the report. The confirmed count is 11 patients; no additional information is provided there about hospitalizations, deaths, symptom onset dates, or how the patients’ illnesses were confirmed as part of the same outbreak.
The report describes the Listeria investigation as new but does not provide a date when the FDA first opened it. It separately notes that the agency is investigating other foodborne illness outbreaks, including an E. coli O26:H11 outbreak linked to Sierra Nevada Graziers raw milk cheese. That is a distinct investigation: the cheese-related E. coli outbreak is not identified as connected to the new Listeria cases.
Why the Unknown Source Matters
Until investigators identify a possible source, consumers and retailers have no outbreak-specific product or brand to check against the available information. No food has been named in connection with these 11 Listeria patients, so the report does not support singling out any particular product or advising readers to discard a specific food because of this investigation.
Listeria investigations can require time to link illnesses to a shared food, particularly when investigators must compare patient interviews and other evidence with distribution and production records. The FDA’s traceback work is one part of that process. If investigators identify a suspect food, further actions or public guidance may follow, but the report does not state that a recall has been issued or that a product has been confirmed as the source.
The outbreak is also relevant because it is being reported alongside several other active foodborne illness investigations. However, the counts and findings from those investigations must be kept separate. In particular, the raw milk cheese outbreak described in the report involves E. coli, not Listeria, and its recall information does not apply to the new Listeria investigation.
Listeria test kits for home testing
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Other Outbreaks in the Report
Food Safety News’ October 1 report says the FDA was also continuing to investigate a multistate outbreak of E. coli O26:H11 linked to Sierra Nevada Graziers grass-fed raw milk cheese. It reports 13 patients across eight states, with eight hospitalizations and three cases of hemolytic uremic syndrome. The company had recalled its raw milk cheeses, according to the report. These details concern that separate E. coli outbreak, not the new Listeria investigation.
The report also describes changes in other investigations. A separate E. coli O157:H7 outbreak had risen from 25 to 38 patients, while another Listeria outbreak with an unknown source had increased from 40 to 44. Those are distinct outbreak counts. The article also mentions a separate Listeria investigation first reported July 22, for which the count had risen from 10 to 11; it says the FDA had begun traceback, onsite inspections, and sample collection without disclosing the food or locations involved.
The report does not clarify whether its reference to a new Listeria outbreak with 11 patients is connected to the separately described investigation first reported July 22, which also had 11 patients at the time of the update. Readers should not assume the figures refer to the same case cluster: the source does not establish that link.
“The agency has not yet identified a source of the pathogen.”
— Food Safety News, reporting on the FDA investigation
Key Details Still Withheld
The food source remains unknown, and the FDA has not disclosed what product or food category is part of its traceback. The report does not identify the states where patients live, their ages, when they became ill, or whether anyone has been hospitalized or died. It also does not say how the 11 cases were linked to one another.
It is unclear whether the new 11-patient investigation is connected to the separate Listeria investigation in the report that was first recorded on July 22 and also had a count of 11. Similar counts alone do not establish that two reports describe the same outbreak. The available source material gives no confirmation of a relationship between them.
No recall or consumer warning is reported for the new Listeria investigation. The known recall discussed in the article concerns Sierra Nevada Graziers raw milk cheese and the separate E. coli O26:H11 outbreak. It should not be treated as a Listeria-related recall based on the information provided.
What Investigators May Report Next
The FDA’s reported traceback investigation is ongoing. Investigators may seek to connect patient histories with food distribution records, testing, or other evidence, but the report does not give a timetable for identifying a source or say when the agency will next update the public.
Readers should watch for further information from the FDA and relevant public health agencies, particularly any identification of a food, geographic details, laboratory findings, or recall notice. Until those details are released, the confirmed information is limited to 11 patients and an active investigation; the source and any specific consumer action remain unreported.
Key Questions
How many patients are in the new Listeria outbreak?
The FDA has confirmed 11 patients in the investigation, according to the October 1 report.
Has the FDA identified the food causing the outbreak?
No. The FDA has not identified a source and has not disclosed what food it is tracing.
Where do the patients live, and how old are they?
The report says the FDA has not released the patients’ ages or locations. Those details remain unavailable in the source material.
Has a recall been announced for this Listeria outbreak?
The report does not describe a recall tied to the new Listeria investigation. The raw milk cheese recall mentioned in the same article concerns a separate E. coli outbreak.
Is this the same as the other Listeria outbreak mentioned in the report?
The source does not confirm that the new investigation is connected to the separate Listeria investigation first reported July 22. Both are reported at 11 patients, but matching counts do not establish they are the same outbreak.
Source: rss
NFL season / tailgating Picks
team gear
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
