For an Alexa home that needs energy data as well as remote control, I’d put the Kasa Matter KP125MP2 first for its mix of monitoring and Matter support. The Tapo P110M stands out for buyers who want Matter in a two-pack, while the Tapo P115 is a strong fit for monitoring several appliances across a home. The main tradeoff is whether you value broader platform compatibility, simple Alexa setup, or the convenience of buying multiple plugs together. Some models in this lineup focus on Alexa control but do not list energy monitoring, so they suit a different job. Read on for the full breakdown and help matching a plug to your setup.
Get kitchen staples and gadgets delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Key Takeaways
- Kasa KP125MP and amazon.com/dp/B0DKGBP38V?tag=supportbreakfast-20&ascsubtag=dc-552143″ target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow sponsored noopener”>Tapo P110M combine energy monitoring with Matter support, making them the clearest choices when flexibility across smart-home platforms matters alongside Alexa.
- Tapo P115 appears in both two- and four-pack options, so buyers can choose a smaller test purchase or cover more outlets without changing product families.
- Multi-packs are common across this lineup, including Govee, Tapo, and Kasa options; check the exact model and pack size rather than assuming every pack has the same features.
- Alexa compatibility does not mean energy monitoring: the Amazon Basics and Amazon Smart Plug listings emphasize Alexa control, while their listed features do not include energy tracking.
- Smart-home platform needs split the field: Matter models favor broader compatibility, while Kasa EP25P4 specifically lists Apple HomeKit support and may suit households balancing Alexa with Apple Home.
| Linkind Matter Smart Plug – Works with Apple Home, Alexa, Siri, Google Home | ![]() | Best for Cross-Platform Control | Connectivity: Matter and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | Voice platforms: Alexa, Siri, and Google Assistant | Other listed platforms: Apple Home, Google Home, and SmartThings | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amazon Basics Smart Plug, Works with Alexa, Voice & App Control, Schedule, Compact, 4-Pack, White | ![]() | Best Alexa-Only Multipack | Pack size: 4 indoor smart plugs | Compatibility: Alexa | Control: App, voice, and scheduling | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, KP125MP2, 15A/1800W Max | ![]() | Best Overall for Energy Monitoring and Alexa | Model: KP125MP2 | Connectivity: Matter and Wi-Fi | Energy monitoring: Supported | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Energy Monitoring, KP115 | ![]() | Best for Alexa and Google Home Households | Model: KP115 | Connectivity: Wi-Fi | Energy monitoring: Supported | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Govee Smart Plug, WiFi Outlet Compatible with Alexa & Google Assistant, Pack of 4 | ![]() | Best Multi-Room Plug Pack | Pack size: 4 plugs | Connectivity: Bluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | Voice assistants: Alexa and Google Assistant | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Smart Plug Outlet with Energy Monitoring, 15A 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best Value Four-Pack for Energy Tracking | Pack size: 4 plugs | Maximum wattage: 1800 W | Operating voltage: 120 V | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tapo Smart Plug, Matter Compatible, Energy Monitoring, P110M (2-Pack), 15A | ![]() | Best for Matter and Alexa Compatibility | Pack size: 2 plugs | Maximum wattage: 1800 W | Connectivity: Wi-Fi; 2.4 GHz required | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring (4 Pack) | ![]() | Best for Detailed Live Power Readings | Pack size: 4 plugs | Maximum wattage: 1800 W | Operating voltage: 120 V | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tapo Smart Plug Wi-Fi, Energy Monitoring, P115 (2-Pack), 15A | ![]() | Best Straightforward Two-Pack | Pack size: 2 plugs | Maximum wattage: 1800 W | Operating voltage: 125 V | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amazon Smart Plug – Works with Alexa, Easy Setup, Compact Design | ![]() | Best for Alexa Beginners | Dimensions: 3.2 x 1.5 x 2.2 in. (80 x 38 x 57 mm) | Weight: 3.1 oz. (87 g) | Network: 2.4 GHz, 802.11 b/g/n | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tapo Smart Plug Wi-Fi, Energy Monitoring, P115 (4-Pack), 15A | ![]() | Best Value Four-Pack | Model: Tapo P115 (4-pack) | Connectivity: Wi-Fi | Voice assistants and platforms: Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, SmartThings | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, KP125MP4, 15A/1800W Max | ![]() | Best for Matter Smart Homes | Model: Kasa KP125MP4 | Pack size: 4 plugs | Connectivity: Matter, SmartThings, and Wi-Fi | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tapo Smart Plug, Matter Compatible, Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A | ![]() | Best for Matter and Energy Insights | Model: Tapo P110M | Pack size: 4 plugs | Connectivity: Matter and Wi-Fi | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa Smart Plug Mini 15A, EP25P4, Apple HomeKit Supported | ![]() | Best for Apple Home and Alexa | Model: Kasa EP25P4 | Pack size: 4 plugs | Connectivity: Wi-Fi | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| smart plugs energy monitoring alexa | Connectivity | Pack size | Operating voltage | Maximum wattage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Linkind Matter Smart Plug | Matter and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | — | — | — |
| Amazon Basics Smart Plug | — | 4 indoor smart plugs | — | — |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | Matter and Wi-Fi | — | 120 V | — |
| Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Ener | Wi-Fi | — | 120 V | — |
| Govee Smart Plug | Bluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 4 plugs | — | — |
| Smart Plug Outlet with Energy | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | 4 plugs | 120 V | 1800 W |
| Tapo Smart Plug | Wi-Fi; 2.4 GHz required | 2 plugs | — | 1800 W |
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy M | Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | 4 plugs | 120 V | 1800 W |
| Tapo Smart Plug Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi; 2.4 GHz required | 2 plugs | 125 V | 1800 W |
| Amazon Smart Plug | — | — | — | — |
| Tapo Smart Plug Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi | — | 110 volts | 1800 watts |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | Matter, SmartThings, and Wi-Fi | 4 plugs | 120 volts | — |
| Tapo Smart Plug | Matter and Wi-Fi | 4 plugs | — | 1800 watts |
| Kasa Smart Plug Mini 15A | Wi-Fi | 4 plugs | 120 volts | 1800 watts |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Linkind Matter Smart Plug – Works with Apple Home, Alexa, Siri, Google Home
The Linkind is a strong fit when platform flexibility matters more than detailed electricity tracking. Matter support brings Alexa, Apple Home, Google Home, and SmartThings into the picture, while schedules and voice commands cover everyday control. Unlike the Kasa KP125MP2, this model’s supplied product details do not list energy monitoring, so I would not choose it to measure appliance consumption. Its compact build and 15-amp rating suit typical lamps and household devices, but the 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi limit and need for a Matter-certified hub for full platform integration add setup constraints. Choose it for broad smart-home compatibility; choose the Kasa if monitoring power use is central to the purchase.
Pros:- Matter support works across several major smart-home platforms
- Voice control, remote operation, and scheduling support flexible routines
- Compact plug-in design
- ETL certification and a 15A rating for compatible household loads
Cons:- Product details do not specify energy monitoring
- Full Matter platform integration requires a compatible hub
- Works with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only and is limited to 1800W
Best for: Households using multiple smart-home platforms that want Matter-based control for standard appliances and do not need plug-level energy reports.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want to track electricity consumption, or who lack a compatible Matter hub and want the fullest platform integration without one.
- Connectivity:Matter and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Voice platforms:Alexa, Siri, and Google Assistant
- Other listed platforms:Apple Home, Google Home, and SmartThings
- Maximum current:15 A
- Maximum power:1800W
- Plug type:Type A
- Certification:ETL certified
Our verdict“Choose the Linkind for flexible Matter-based control across platforms, but pick the Kasa KP125MP2 if energy monitoring is a must-have.”
Amazon Basics Smart Plug, Works with Alexa, Voice & App Control, Schedule, Compact, 4-Pack, White
This four-pack prioritizes straightforward Alexa routines over energy insight or broad compatibility. It supports app control and scheduling without a hub or third-party app, making it a simpler route to automating several lamps, fans, or other small appliances than buying single plugs such as the Kasa KP115. The compact body is designed to leave the neighboring outlet available, which is useful when adding several plugs around a room. The tradeoff is central to this roundup: the supplied details list no energy monitoring, and these plugs work with Alexa rather than Apple Home, Google Home, or Matter. They also require 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and lack a physical on/off switch. I’d choose them for Alexa-based schedules, not for tracking appliance energy use.
Pros:- Four plugs support automation across multiple devices
- Alexa app control and scheduling without a hub
- Compact design is intended to leave the neighboring outlet free
- 15A rating for compatible loads
Cons:- Product details do not specify energy monitoring
- Alexa-only compatibility limits use in mixed-platform homes
- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and has no physical on/off switch
Best for: Alexa households that want to automate several lights or small appliances with app control and schedules.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need energy monitoring, use Apple Home or Google Home, or want a physical switch on each plug.
- Pack size:4 indoor smart plugs
- Compatibility:Alexa
- Control:App, voice, and scheduling
- Plug type:Type B
- Maximum current:15 A
- Dimensions:2.7 × 2.1 × 1.5 inches
- Warranty:1 year limited
Our verdict“Pick this multipack for simple Alexa scheduling across several devices, but skip it if energy-use data or cross-platform support matters.”
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, KP125MP2, 15A/1800W Max
The KP125MP2 is the clearest match for shoppers who want both Alexa control and energy monitoring. Its Matter and Wi-Fi connectivity also gives it a wider smart-home role than the Alexa-only Amazon Basics plugs, so it can suit a household that may add Apple Home, Google Home, or SmartThings control. Energy reports make it more useful for checking how much power a connected appliance draws, rather than only switching it on and off. The compact design helps when outlets are close together, while the 15A/1800W ceiling fits many standard household devices. That rating still rules out loads beyond its limit, and operation depends on Wi-Fi. Compared with the Linkind Matter plug, the Kasa earns its place here by explicitly listing energy monitoring.
Pros:- Energy monitoring adds usage insight beyond basic on/off control
- Matter support works with several smart-home platforms
- Compact design helps preserve access to nearby outlets
- 15A/1800W capacity suits many standard household devices
Cons:- Requires Wi-Fi for operation
- 15A/1800W limit excludes higher-power appliances
- Energy monitoring is available here, unlike the listed Linkind Matter plug, but the product data does not specify detailed reporting features
Best for: Alexa users who want plug-level energy tracking now and Matter compatibility for a smart home that spans multiple platforms.
Not ideal for: People without a dependable Wi-Fi connection or anyone planning to connect an appliance above the 15A/1800W limit.
- Model:KP125MP2
- Connectivity:Matter and Wi-Fi
- Energy monitoring:Supported
- Maximum power:1800W
- Maximum current:15 A
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Control:Voice control
- Listed controllers:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings
Our verdict“Choose the KP125MP2 if you want one plug to combine Alexa control, Matter compatibility, and energy monitoring within a 15A/1800W limit.”
Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Energy Monitoring, KP115
The KP115 suits buyers who want energy monitoring without requiring Matter. Alexa and Google Assistant voice support, remote control, and scheduling cover the main convenience tasks, while the monitoring feature gives it a practical advantage over the Amazon Basics plug, which focuses on Alexa switching and schedules. Its listed dimensions also make it a compact option for crowded outlet areas. This model’s platform reach is narrower than the Kasa KP125MP2: the KP115 lists Wi-Fi control and Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT, and Vera, while the newer Matter model is the stronger fit for broader interoperability. The KP115 is limited to 15A/1800W and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and setup instructions may take more attention than a basic Alexa plug. I’d choose it when monitoring and familiar voice assistants matter more than Matter.
Pros:- Energy monitoring accompanies remote control and scheduling
- Works with Alexa and Google Assistant voice control
- Compact dimensions suit tight outlet arrangements
- Lists IFTTT and Vera among its controllers
Cons:- Wi-Fi connectivity is limited to 2.4 GHz
- 15A/1800W ceiling excludes higher-power devices
- Setup instructions may be complex for some buyers
Best for: Alexa or Google Assistant users who want to monitor a standard appliance and schedule its operation without needing Matter.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need Matter interoperability, support for loads above 15A/1800W, or a setup process that requires minimal instruction.
- Model:KP115
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi
- Energy monitoring:Supported
- Maximum power:1800W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Controllers:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT, and Vera
- Dimensions:2.62 × 1.57 × 1.5 inches
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“Choose the KP115 for energy monitoring with Alexa or Google Assistant, but select the KP125MP2 if Matter support is a priority.”
Govee Smart Plug, WiFi Outlet Compatible with Alexa & Google Assistant, Pack of 4
Govee’s four-pack is aimed at spreading basic automation across several rooms, with Alexa and Google Assistant compatibility, scheduling, and group control. Bluetooth and Wi-Fi are both listed, giving it more than one connection method, while ETL certification adds a clear safety credential. That makes it a broader assistant match than the Alexa-only Amazon Basics multipack. But for an energy-monitoring roundup, there is a meaningful gap: the supplied details do not list energy monitoring. Its listed maximum power is 1200W, below the 1800W ceiling of the Kasa KP125MP2, so appliance choice needs more care. It also requires app setup and works on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only. I’d select it for grouped control of compatible devices, not for power-use tracking or high-load appliances.
Pros:- Four plugs support automation across multiple locations
- Compatible with Alexa and Google Assistant
- Scheduling and group control simplify routines for several devices
- Bluetooth and Wi-Fi connectivity are listed, along with ETL certification
Cons:- Product details do not specify energy monitoring
- Listed maximum power of 1200W is below the Kasa KP125MP2’s 1800W
- Requires app setup and supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only
Best for: Alexa or Google Assistant households that want to schedule and group-control several compatible, lower-power devices.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking energy reports, 5 GHz Wi-Fi support, or plugs rated for loads above the listed 1200W maximum.
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Connectivity:Bluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Voice assistants:Alexa and Google Assistant
- Maximum power:1200W
- Voltage:120 V
- Maximum current:11 A
- Plug type:Type B
- Certification:ETL
Our verdict“Choose Govee for multi-room Alexa or Google routines on compatible lower-power devices, but choose Kasa if energy monitoring or a higher listed power ceiling matters.”
Smart Plug Outlet with Energy Monitoring, 15A 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, 4-Pack
For Alexa users who want energy readings across several appliances, this four-plug set pairs real-time monitoring with schedules, timers, and SmartLife app control. It can help identify which regularly used devices draw power while making them easier to switch off on a routine. Compared with the Tapo P110M, this pack supplies more outlets, while the Tapo adds Matter support for broader smart-home platform connections. Setup here relies on the app rather than a direct Alexa connection, so expect an extra configuration step before voice commands work. The plugs also require 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and are capped at 15A, which rules out loads beyond that rating. This is a practical fit for spreading basic monitoring around a home, not for buyers seeking Matter or platform-independent control.
Pros:- Four plugs allow energy tracking in multiple rooms or for several appliances.
- Real-time energy monitoring can help pinpoint power use.
- Scheduling and timers automate recurring on and off routines.
- Works with Alexa and Google Assistant after app setup.
Cons:- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network.
- Alexa control requires setup through the SmartLife or compatible app.
- The 15A maximum limits use with higher-load appliances.
Best for: Alexa households that want energy monitoring and scheduled control for several standard appliances from one four-pack.
Not ideal for: Smart-home users who want Matter-based cross-platform integration, direct Alexa setup, or to monitor appliances drawing more than 15A.
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Control methods:App, push button, and voice
- Compatible platforms:Alexa, Google Assistant, SmartLife, and Tuya
- Dimensions:1.4 x 2.8 x 2 in.
Our verdict“Choose this pack if you want four app-managed, energy-monitoring plugs for ordinary Alexa-controlled appliances and can work within its Wi-Fi and 15A limits.”
Tapo Smart Plug, Matter Compatible, Energy Monitoring, P110M (2-Pack), 15A
The P110M stands apart from the other two-pack here because Matter support broadens its smart-home compatibility beyond a single assistant ecosystem. Its energy statistics and bill estimates give Alexa households more context than simple on/off control, while scheduling handles recurring routines. Against the Tapo P115, the P110M’s clearest differentiator is Matter; the P115 is a simpler Wi-Fi option without that standard listed. The tradeoff is that this is still a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi plug, and the supplied information does not confirm local control when internet access is unavailable. Its two-plug quantity also offers less coverage than the four-packs in this roundup. Pick it when cross-platform flexibility matters more than outfitting several rooms at once.
Pros:- Matter support allows broader smart-home platform integration.
- Energy statistics and bill estimates provide more context than basic switching.
- Supports voice control with Alexa and Google Assistant.
- Compact design is suited to crowded outlet areas.
Cons:- Limited to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.
- Wi-Fi is required, and local control without internet is not specified.
- Two plugs provide less coverage than the four-plug options.
Best for: Alexa users building a mixed-brand smart home who want energy reports and Matter compatibility in a two-plug set.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a larger multi-room pack or confirmed operation without an internet connection.
- Pack size:2 plugs
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi; 2.4 GHz required
- Smart-home standard:Matter
- Voice assistants:Alexa and Google Assistant
- Energy features:Energy monitoring, statistics, and bill estimation
- Control features:App control and programmable scheduling
Our verdict“Choose the P110M if Matter compatibility and detailed energy information outweigh the smaller pack size and Wi-Fi dependence.”
Govee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring (4 Pack)
Govee’s four-pack is the pick for buyers who want to see more than a general energy summary: its listing specifies real-time readings for power, current, and voltage. Group control and schedules add useful day-to-day automation, and Alexa and Google Assistant voice control suit homes using either assistant. Compared with the SmartLife four-pack, Govee makes those three electrical measurements explicit in its product details, while both offer four plugs and energy monitoring. The tradeoff is that the listed plugs are larger than the SmartLife model, at 2.68 x 2.4 x 1.5 inches, which may matter where outlets are close together. It also needs app and Wi-Fi setup and does not support 5 GHz networks. Buyers focused on live electrical data should favor this over a simpler monitoring summary.
Pros:- Tracks real-time power, current, and voltage.
- Four plugs support monitoring across several appliances.
- Group control and scheduling simplify recurring routines.
- Supports Alexa and Google Assistant voice control.
Cons:- Requires app setup and Wi-Fi for operation.
- Does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi networks.
- The listed dimensions may make adjacent outlet access less convenient than the compact SmartLife plugs.
Best for: Alexa or Google Assistant households that want a four-pack with live power, current, and voltage readings for connected appliances.
Not ideal for: People with crowded outlets or a 5 GHz-only wireless network who need a smaller or more network-flexible plug.
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Energy readings:Power, current, and voltage
- Voice assistants:Alexa and Google Assistant
- Dimensions:2.68 x 2.4 x 1.5 in.
- Certifications:ETL, FCC, CA65, and SDOC
Our verdict“Choose Govee if you want four voice-controlled plugs with explicit live power, current, and voltage tracking and have room for their listed size.”
Tapo Smart Plug Wi-Fi, Energy Monitoring, P115 (2-Pack), 15A
The Tapo P115 is a straightforward choice for Alexa users who need energy monitoring and remote switching without making Matter compatibility the deciding factor. App control, voice commands, and schedules cover the routine tasks, while its stated auto-shutoff feature adds a layer of overload protection. Compared with the Tapo P110M, the P115’s listing does not cite Matter, so it is less suited to buyers prioritizing cross-platform integration; in return, it keeps the feature set focused on familiar Wi-Fi control. The two-pack also gives less coverage than the Govee four-pack. One caveat is that the supplied specs say it lacks a physical on/off switch, which may frustrate anyone who wants a button on the plug itself. It is best for buyers who value basic monitoring and app-led automation over platform breadth.
Pros:- Energy monitoring helps track connected appliance use.
- Supports remote app and voice control.
- Scheduling can automate regular operating times.
- Auto-shutoff is listed as an overload-protection feature.
Cons:- Requires Wi-Fi for full functionality and is limited to 2.4 GHz networks.
- No physical on/off switch is listed.
- Does not list Matter support, unlike the Tapo P110M.
Best for: Alexa households that want two energy-monitoring plugs with app control, schedules, and stated overload auto-shutoff.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need Matter support, a physical on/off button, or enough plugs to cover several rooms.
- Pack size:2 plugs
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Operating voltage:125 V
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi; 2.4 GHz required
- Control app:Tapo app
- Energy feature:Energy monitoring
- Protection feature:Auto-shutoff for overload prevention
- Material:Polycarbonate
Our verdict“Choose the P115 two-pack for focused Wi-Fi monitoring and automation, but pick the P110M if Matter support is a priority.”
Amazon Smart Plug – Works with Alexa, Easy Setup, Compact Design
The Amazon Smart Plug is the simplest match here for someone who wants Alexa routines and voice control with little setup friction. It needs no hub, works through the Alexa app, and supports schedules for lights, fans, and similar indoor devices. That simplicity comes with a defining limitation: it has no energy monitoring, so it cannot answer the central usage-tracking need behind this roundup. Compared with the energy-monitoring Tapo P115, the Amazon plug is easier to keep within the Alexa ecosystem but gives up consumption data and Google Assistant support. Its compact dimensions can help preserve outlet access, though buyers should verify fit for their particular outlet layout. This makes sense as a basic Alexa switch, not as a choice for anyone who wants to measure appliance energy use.
Pros:- Setup is designed for Alexa and requires no hub.
- Compact dimensions can leave room for nearby outlet use.
- Supports Alexa voice control, schedules, and routines.
- Works with the Alexa app on Fire OS, Android, and iOS.
Cons:- Does not provide energy monitoring.
- Works only with Alexa, unlike the Tapo P115 and Govee plug.
- Limited to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and indoor use.
Best for: Alexa beginners who want a hub-free plug for indoor lights or fans and do not need energy consumption data.
Not ideal for: Buyers who specifically want energy monitoring, Google Assistant support, or control outside Alexa’s ecosystem.
- Dimensions:3.2 x 1.5 x 2.2 in. (80 x 38 x 57 mm)
- Weight:3.1 oz. (87 g)
- Network:2.4 GHz, 802.11 b/g/n
- Use:Indoor only
- Compatibility:Alexa app, Fire OS, Android, and iOS
- Hub:Not required
- Warranty:1-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose this plug for simple Alexa automation, but select an energy-monitoring model such as the Tapo P115 if tracking consumption matters.”
Tapo Smart Plug Wi-Fi, Energy Monitoring, P115 (4-Pack), 15A
The Tapo P115 four-pack is a practical pick for buyers who want to monitor several appliances without moving plugs between rooms. Its energy tracking and bill estimates add useful context beyond Alexa voice control, while schedules and auto-shutoff can help manage devices that do not need to run all day. The compact shape is designed to leave neighboring outlet space available. Compared with the Kasa KP125MP4, this model uses standard Wi-Fi rather than Matter, so it is a simpler fit for Alexa households already comfortable with Tapo’s app, but offers less flexibility for mixed-platform smart homes. The tradeoffs are a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi requirement, an 1800W ceiling, and no physical on/off switch. I would choose it for routine monitoring, not high-load appliances or a Matter-first setup.
Pros:- Energy monitoring and bill estimates help identify power-hungry connected devices
- Alexa and Google Assistant voice control, scheduling, and auto-shutoff support hands-off routines
- Compact design is intended to avoid blocking adjacent outlets
- Four plugs make it practical to monitor multiple devices around the home
Cons:- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network
- Maximum load is 1800W
- No physical on/off switch is listed
Best for: Alexa households that want energy tracking and scheduling across several everyday appliances using one four-plug set
Not ideal for: Matter-first smart-home owners or buyers who need plugs for loads above 1800W or a physical switch on each plug
- Model:Tapo P115 (4-pack)
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi
- Voice assistants and platforms:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, SmartThings
- Maximum wattage:1800 watts
- Operating voltage:110 volts
- Control method:App
- Material:Polycarbonate
- Pack contents:4 Tapo P115 plugs and quick start guide
Our verdict“Choose this four-pack for Alexa-friendly energy tracking across several ordinary appliances, and pick the Kasa KP125MP4 instead if Matter support is a priority.”
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, KP125MP4, 15A/1800W Max
The Kasa KP125MP4 earns its place for buyers who want energy monitoring without tying their setup to a single assistant. Matter compatibility supports a broader mix of platforms, including Alexa, Apple Home, Google Home, and SmartThings, which makes this a more adaptable choice than the Wi-Fi-only Tapo P115. Its energy readings help track connected devices, while voice control and app setup keep everyday use straightforward. The four-pack suits households building out several monitored outlets at once. That flexibility comes with familiar limits: the plugs still need 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and their 15A/1800W rating rules out loads beyond that capacity. Buyers who only use Alexa may find the Tapo P115 a simpler match; I would favor Kasa when cross-platform control matters more than keeping the setup basic.
Pros:- Matter support connects with several major smart-home platforms
- Energy monitoring helps track connected-device consumption
- Four-plug set supports monitoring in multiple rooms
- Compact, flame-retardant design is specified
Cons:- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Maximum rating is 15A and 1800W
- Wi-Fi is still required for operation
Best for: Households using multiple Matter-compatible platforms that want energy monitoring and voice control across several outlets
Not ideal for: Alexa-only buyers seeking the simplest Wi-Fi setup, or anyone whose appliance exceeds the 15A/1800W limit
- Model:Kasa KP125MP4
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Connectivity:Matter, SmartThings, and Wi-Fi
- Operating voltage:120 volts
- Compatible platforms:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, SmartThings, Apple Home
- Compatible devices:Android, Pixel, Samsung, iPhone
- Control method:Voice
Our verdict“Pick the KP125MP4 if you want four energy-monitoring plugs that can fit a Matter-based, multi-platform home.”
Tapo Smart Plug, Matter Compatible, Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A
The Tapo P110M four-pack pairs energy monitoring with Matter, making it a strong option for buyers who want device-level consumption information inside a multi-platform smart home. Its bill estimates and detailed statistics can help distinguish which everyday appliances deserve a schedule or a closer look. Alexa voice control, remote operation, and scheduling cover the main routines, while the compact design is intended to preserve access to nearby outlets. Compared with the Kasa KP125MP4, this Tapo option emphasizes its energy statistics and bill estimation; both offer Matter and a four-plug format, so the choice may hinge on the app and brand already used at home. The limitations are similar: 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi is required, the listed maximum is 1800W, and the supplied details do not specify battery backup or offline control.
Pros:- Matter compatibility supports integration with major smart-home platforms
- Energy statistics and bill estimates add context to power monitoring
- Alexa voice control, remote operation, and scheduling support flexible routines
- Four plugs let buyers monitor several appliances at once
Cons:- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection
- Maximum listed wattage is 1800W
- Product details do not specify battery backup or offline control
Best for: Matter-enabled Alexa households that want detailed energy statistics and bill estimates for several everyday appliances
Not ideal for: Buyers who need documented offline operation, battery backup, or support for appliances above 1800W
- Model:Tapo P110M
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Connectivity:Matter and Wi-Fi
- Maximum wattage:1800 watts
- Control types:Remote, voice, and scheduling
- Control method:App
- Energy features:Energy monitoring, statistics, and bill estimation
- Color:White
Our verdict“Choose the P110M if you want a Matter-compatible four-pack with energy statistics and bill estimates, and compare it with the Kasa KP125MP4 if platform fit is your main concern.”
Kasa Smart Plug Mini 15A, EP25P4, Apple HomeKit Supported
The Kasa EP25P4 is the lineup’s clearest fit for households that want energy monitoring alongside Apple HomeKit and Alexa support. It also works with Google Assistant and SmartThings, so it can suit a home where voice control is split across platforms. The compact plug is designed to keep adjacent outlet access open, and its 1800W capacity covers many ordinary household devices. Unlike the Matter-enabled Kasa KP125MP4, this model lists Wi-Fi connectivity rather than Matter, so buyers choosing on cross-platform setup should compare those approaches carefully. Its Apple HomeKit remote control also depends on an additional Apple device, and the 15A limit excludes higher-load appliances. I would shortlist it for Apple-centered homes that want a four-plug set, but not for buyers seeking a Matter-first system or a plug with a higher stated capacity.
Pros:- Supports Apple HomeKit, Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings
- Energy monitoring helps track connected-device power use
- Compact design is intended to leave adjacent outlets accessible
- Four-plug set can cover multiple rooms or appliances
Cons:- Remote HomeKit control requires an additional Apple device
- Maximum rating is 15A / 1800W
- Wi-Fi connectivity is listed, but Matter support is not
Best for: Apple Home households that also use Alexa or Google Assistant and want energy monitoring across several everyday devices
Not ideal for: Matter-first buyers, homes without an Apple device for remote HomeKit control, or users with appliances above 1800W
- Model:Kasa EP25P4
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi
- Maximum wattage:1800 watts
- Operating voltage:120 volts
- Compatible platforms:Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Assistant, SmartThings
- Switch type:Push button
- Contact type:Normally closed
Our verdict“Choose the EP25P4 for energy monitoring in an Apple Home household that also wants Alexa support, but favor the Kasa KP125MP4 if Matter is a requirement.”

How We Picked
I compared the listed products against the needs behind this search: reliable Alexa control, useful energy monitoring, straightforward setup, and a form factor that works in everyday outlets. I gave more weight to products that explicitly list energy monitoring, then looked at whether Matter or Apple HomeKit support adds useful flexibility. Pack size and the clarity of each product’s stated features also mattered, since a four-pack can be a better fit for whole-room coverage but a poor choice for someone who only needs one plug.
The ranking favors models that combine the main requested features rather than Alexa control alone. That places energy-monitoring Matter options near the top, with monitoring-focused Wi-Fi models close behind when their feature set suits the buyer. Alexa-only models remain useful for basic schedules and voice control, but rank lower for this specific roundup because they do not meet the energy-tracking part of the query. I treat similarly named products and different pack sizes as separate buying choices, not proof that their feature lists are interchangeable.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Smart Plugs Energy Monitoring Alexa
Choosing among smart plugs is less about collecting features than matching the plug to the appliance, network, and smart-home setup you already have. I’d settle those basics before choosing a pack size or platform label.
Check That Energy Monitoring Is Explicitly Listed
Alexa control and energy monitoring are separate capabilities, even when both appear in the same search results. If you want to see how much an appliance uses, confirm that the exact model lists energy monitoring rather than relying on a family name or a similar-looking listing. Monitoring can help you compare usage patterns, but it does not automatically lower consumption or identify every cause of a high bill. Think about whether you need ongoing tracking for several devices or only a rough check on one appliance. For simple on-and-off voice control, an Alexa-focused plug without monitoring may be enough; paying for monitoring makes more sense when you’ll act on the information.
Match Matter and Ecosystem Support to Your Home
Matter support can make a plug easier to use across compatible smart-home platforms, but it does not remove the need to check compatibility for your specific setup. Alexa users should confirm the product’s current Alexa support and setup requirements, especially if they also want to use another platform. A plug that lists Apple HomeKit support may be useful in a mixed Alexa-and-Apple household, while a Matter model can offer a broader route across supported systems. Avoid choosing by protocol name alone: a feature you will not use adds little value. If your home is firmly Alexa-only, simpler direct compatibility may matter more than cross-platform flexibility.
Check the Appliance Load and Outlet Fit
A plug’s stated electrical limit must suit the appliance you plan to connect; do not assume every household device is appropriate for a smart plug. Check the device label and the smart plug’s specifications before use, and follow any restrictions in the manufacturer’s instructions. The 15A models in this lineup state a maximum rating, but that figure is not a blanket approval for every load or use case. Physical size matters too: a bulky plug can block a neighboring outlet even when its electrical rating is suitable. Measure crowded outlet areas and account for plugs, adapters, or furniture that may press against the device.
Choose Pack Size Around Your Actual Plan
Four-packs can make sense when you already know which appliances you want to monitor, while a two-pack limits unused devices if you are still learning how the system fits your home. Before buying multiples, list the outlets and appliances you intend to automate and check whether they are within reach of your Wi-Fi coverage. Mixing different models can complicate naming, setup, and energy reporting, so consistency has practical value across a room. On the other hand, buying one model for every outlet may be wasteful if only a couple of appliances need monitoring. Compare pack size with your real installation plan, not the number of plugs included alone.
Treat Energy Data as a Guide, Not a Bill Guarantee
Energy readings are most useful for comparing one appliance’s usage over time or spotting patterns that deserve a closer look. They may not match your utility bill exactly, which can include different measurement periods, rates, and charges. Check whether the companion app presents the information in a way you can act on, such as usage history or clear device-level readings. If your goal is to estimate operating costs, you may need to enter your electricity rate and verify how the app handles it. A plug with monitoring is less useful if you rarely open the data or cannot connect it to a decision.
Prioritize Setup and Network Fit
Many smart plugs rely on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, so check your router configuration before assuming setup will be immediate. A combined network name can still work with some products, but setup instructions differ; follow the model’s guidance rather than changing router settings at random. Alexa setup also depends on clear device names and a reliable connection, particularly when several plugs are installed together. Label each plug by appliance or location as you add it to the app, which helps avoid switching off the wrong device by voice. If you value a low-friction start over broad platform support, a straightforward Alexa-oriented option may be the better fit.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which products in this roundup combine Alexa use with energy monitoring?
The Kasa KP125MP models, Kasa KP115, Tapo P110M, Tapo P115 models, and Govee energy-monitoring four-pack are listed with energy monitoring, alongside Alexa compatibility where stated. Check the exact product listing before ordering, since similar names can refer to different features or pack sizes. The Amazon Smart Plug and Amazon Basics plug listings emphasize Alexa control but do not list energy monitoring. If energy data is a firm requirement, choose a model that names that feature explicitly. Also confirm the app and platform details for the specific version you plan to buy.
Is Matter worth prioritizing if I mainly use Alexa?
Matter can be worthwhile if you expect to use another supported smart-home platform later or already share your home across ecosystems. If Alexa is your only platform and you do not expect that to change, straightforward Alexa compatibility may be enough. Matter support does not replace checking the exact product’s energy-monitoring features, setup needs, or Alexa compatibility. It is best treated as added flexibility, not a guarantee that every feature works identically across every platform. Compare the functions you will use today with the value of keeping more options open.
Should I buy a two-pack or a four-pack?
Choose a two-pack if you have one or two clear monitoring targets, or if you want to confirm that the app and readings suit you before installing more. A four-pack is more practical when several appliances are already on your list and you want a consistent setup. Count available outlets and check whether the intended appliances can safely use smart plugs before choosing the larger pack. Pack size alone does not tell you whether a model has Matter or energy monitoring, so verify those details separately. Avoid buying extra plugs simply because a larger bundle seems convenient if you have no planned use for them.
Can a smart plug tell me exactly how much an appliance costs to run?
Energy monitoring can provide usage information that helps estimate an appliance’s operating cost, but it may not equal the amount shown on your utility bill. Cost estimates depend on the accuracy and presentation of the app’s readings, the electricity rate entered, and the billing rules that apply to your home. Use the data to compare usage patterns or identify devices worth investigating, rather than treating it as a final bill calculation. Check whether the companion app supports the kind of history or cost view you want. If precise billing-grade measurement matters, confirm the product’s documentation before buying.
Are the Amazon Smart Plug and Amazon Basics plug suitable if I need energy monitoring?
Based on the listed features in this roundup, neither Amazon option names energy monitoring, so I would not choose either when tracking appliance use is a requirement. They may still suit buyers who want Alexa voice control, schedules, and app operation without energy data. The Amazon Basics listing is a four-pack, while the Amazon Smart Plug is presented as a compact single plug, so their fit differs even for basic control. For monitoring, compare them with the Kasa and Tapo options that explicitly list the feature. Always verify the exact model listing in case product specifications change.
Conclusion
For the best overall balance of Alexa use, monitoring, and broader platform flexibility, I’d start with the Kasa Matter KP125MP2; choose the KP125MP4 if a four-pack better fits your outlet plan. For best value by coverage, compare the Tapo P115 two- and four-pack options, selecting the pack size that matches your actual devices. The best premium-style choice for platform flexibility is the Tapo P110M or Kasa KP125MP, since both pair monitoring with Matter support. For beginners who only want Alexa control, the Amazon Smart Plug offers a simpler feature focus, but skip it if energy readings are required. For Apple HomeKit needs, look at the Kasa EP25P4; for households wanting a broad multi-plug setup, compare the Govee and Tapo four-packs while checking each listing’s exact monitoring and compatibility details.
Columbus Day / Indigenous Peoples' Day Picks
long weekend sales
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.














